4 hostile alien civilizations may lurk in the Milky Way, a new study suggests

While, as a risk analyst, I can appreciate the effort to quantify this risk level, I think it is worth reflecting on how the author has chosen to estimate the probability of an alien technological species treating us badly if they do come here.

The author chose to look only at how humans have treated other humans over the last century.

But, would it be better to have looked at how we have treated other species here on Earth during that period? While we have (arguably) begun to behave better towards each other, we have been annihilating other species at an alarming rate.

So, if we were to ever get to another planet that we want to think of as Earth 2.0, let's assume that it is wet and mild, so other "extraterrestrial life" is already there. How would we treat that? Here on earth, we eat most things that don't seem to have a social structure that we can relate to as hunter gatherers. And we are not very nice to living things more like us, such as monkeys and chimpanzees, using them for deadly scientific experiments, etc. Because they are not "technological", we treat them as "less-than" human. So, on anther world, what animals would we eat, what animals would we push to extinction, and what animals would we use for experimentation?

Now, reversing the roles, if an extraterrestrial life form has the technological capabilities to come here, what do you think they would believe about the value of us to them? At best, we would probably be the equivalent of monkeys, with only minimal development of "tools" and intraspecies ethics, in comparison to what that other species must have developed to even get here.

So, let's hope that ethics progresses along with technology as a general rule for intelligent life.

I did a little more fantasizing about species capable of interplanetary travel who do not resemble us at all.