A laymen's ideas for terraforming. Any merit?

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

LogicianSolutions

Hi all. I'm new to the actual science side of space/terra forming community. However here's my layman's ideas.
1. Mars needs more water then it has. Doesn't it make sense to use non nuclear warheads to knock comets into mars. Perhaps even doing something as complex as knocking an ice moon (think there's one around Saturn, forgot if that's where it was or someplace else.) Then before it impacts Mars (and possibility destroys it, we knock other meteors into it to guide it's course and also break it apart before Mars' impact. Now I realize we need to worry a lot about breaking comets'meteors too much apart. If the blast hits them at their strongest point for course adjustments and the weakest point for breaking it apart. We may even want to put charges on the srufaces of meteors. The reason I suggest using meteors to move larger meteors/moons is because it would be easier to move a small meteor with a blast then a big one and yet the small meteor would have potentially more force then conventional warheads and it'd be cheaper to send a few rockets to adjust small meteors then bigger/more rockets to adjust bigger meteors or even small moons.

2. There is also the issue of mars being a "dead planet" with no molten core. Reheating it's core is currently impossible for us. However we could drill several thousand 25 km+ holes down into mar's stable crust and set off numerous nuclear warheads. This while maybe unable to reheat the core completely would give us some thermal heat and maybe even more gravity and stronger magnetic forces to hold the atmosphere in better. It would also help heat the world.

If this solution is used then we may have to evacuate Mars for the incoming water and the reheating of the mantel.