Anyone familiar with LISA?

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

tanstaafl76

<br />I did a search on here and didn't find any results, this project sounds very fascinating. However I'm a layman and I don't understand how the three satellites will be able to stay perfectly triangulated with each other when they are so far apart from one another (5 million km); if gets slightly off course, won't the lasers they fire between one another be off course as well and miss?<br /> <div class="Discussion_UserSignature"> </div>

H

holmec

Ah yes. The idea was discussed here, a while ago.<br /><br /><br />LISA site<br /><br />Love the idea. <br /><br /><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr /><p>if gets slightly off course, won't the lasers they fire between one another be off course as well and miss? <p><hr /></p></p></blockquote><br /><br />To answer your question, <br />In the site on the page "How Lisa works" it mentions "gravitational reference sensors, micronewton thrusters, and laser interferometry". <br /><br />If nothing disturbs them they naturally stay on course and the slightest movement is measured by their lasers and sensor and adjusted with thrusters. But the project is counting on movement between the parts thus detecting the gravitational wave.<br /><br />Thus it also says, "Because LISA detects gravitational waves by measuring the change in distance between freely floating test masses". <div class="Discussion_UserSignature"> <p> </p><p><font color="#0000ff"><em>"SCE to AUX" - John Aaron, curiosity pays off</em></font></p> </div>

T

tanstaafl76