Can we save Mars robots from death by dust?

Dec 26, 2022
Visit site
It should be possible to devise a simple and lightweight system to pull a brush across the solar panels and sweep them clean. On Insight the round panels might have made it a bit complicated but even in that case it should have been do-able.

InSight exceeded it's expected working life. It's capabilities would have had to be reduced to accommodate any cleaning system and failing to include it was never a design flaw. It was always likely that if it didn't break down in other ways that dust would get it in the end.

Dec 21, 2022
Visit site
Sorry, but some things (like cleaning panels to keep a mission alive) should be done just because they, well, SHOULD be done. (I'm not an engineer, and I'm sure that will come across clearly). :)

Yes yes, dust removal systems add complexity, etc, and yes yes, the mission was only designed to be X months long, etc.

But there's still the basic principle of throwing something perfectly good/expensive "in the trash".

I just don't think that trashing something should be an option. It's just not "right" to trash things, esp things that cost a lot in money and man-hours.

Yeah, I'm speaking from non-engineer/accountant perspective.

Reactions: Quazgaa
Dec 27, 2022
Visit site
Seems like a couple 12gram co2 cartridges would do the trick. I have a .50 cal pepper ball gun that uses one 12 gram cartridge and I've shot it 12x, not sure how many it will go but at 12 it was just as powerful as the first. VERY loud. Seems a burst or two like this would do the trick and wouldn't add much weight or cost.

Reactions: bolide
Dec 27, 2022
Visit site
No. Not without billion's of $ for the current one.
For the future, it's should'nt be that complicated to add a vibrator motor to shake off all the dust by folding the solar panel in a verticle position.

Dec 27, 2022
Visit site