extinction

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

border_ruffian

If you exclude global environmental catastrophes, is there a realistic way to calculate the lifetime of a species? For the purposes of The Drake Equation, what factors would weigh most heavily on the outcome?<br /><br />

Q

qso1

I'm not a scientist by profession but IMO, there are no realistic ways to calculate the lifetimes of species that I'm aware. The whole reason species go extinct is some influence beyond their control generally cause it. Mass extinction could be brought on by a number of things. The early theories behind dinosaur extinctions were eventual lack of enough food to support such large beasts. Later the asteroid impact theory took root in part because there was pretty good supportive data. But if we cannot be there to witness the cause of a mass extinction. We can never really know for certain how to calculate the lifetime of a species.<br /><br />For the Drake equation, I would say that if it could be shown that species simply die off over many many generations...weak DNA carried over generation after generation for lack of a better explanation. But to simply die off is the only way I can think of that the Drake equation could be affected by the outcome short of a global catastrophe. <div class="Discussion_UserSignature"> <p><strong>My borrowed quote for the time being:</strong></p><p><em>There are three kinds of people in life. Those who make it happen, those who watch it happen...and those who do not know what happened.</em></p> </div>

B

border_ruffian

Not counting mass extinction due to global catastrophes, I'm interested in why some species live much longer than others. Microbes, for example, which make up most of the species on Earth, may last for as much as a billion years, while in the world of plants and animals (the metazoans), the average lifetime of a species is only a few million years.

Q

qso1