Gravity and Normal Force Responsible For Mass?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Q

QED

Does the idea seem crazy? Perhaps it's not the theoretical higgs, maybe the graviton that is responsible for gravity... and mass. I probably sound like an idiot so please tell me if I am making no sense.

M

MeteorWayne

Huh? Does what sound crazy? There's not enough in your post to tell whether it's crazy or not. It's meaningless fluff, less dense than aerogel!

Q

QED

Of course it's garbage! I'm trying to find a way that it could actually make sense - or not, but I'm a noob.

Mass (inertia and active mass) and weight are determined by an applied force, so gravity and the normal force both "determine" an object's mass, since one pushes and the other pulls, giving relative weight (and actual mass) to the object, as well as the force that maintains position and holding objects together (both forces acting in opposite directions). In other words, could gravitons be partially responsible for creating mass, and if so, what would the normal force be?

Then I guess, one would have to explain why photons have no [rest] mass. I don't think I'm onto anything ground-breaking, but just throwing ideas around (and kind of messing up the physics world a bit probably).

J

Jerromy

Welcome to the universe! It might be a bit constraining but try to get a realistic grip on the proven physics and grow from there... then you will know better than to refer to yourself as a noobie.