Gravity and Time

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

castelle

This is my first time posting a question, so be gentle. I have a fairly simple question about the force of gravity. What is the threshold at which an object will start to exert gravity or does every thing with mass create gravity, just not enough to notice? Also, is there a threshold at which speed start to affect time, or does all speed affect time, just not enough to notice? ex. At what speed does time start to slow, according to the theory of relativity?

K

kyle_baron

<i><br />Also, is there a threshold at which speed start to affect time, or does all speed affect time, just not enough to notice?</i><br /><br />Yes, any speed (movement) will slow time down. And your right most of it isn't noticeable.<br /><i><br /> At what speed does time start to slow, according to the theory of relativity?</i><br /><br />Time stops at the speed of light. Time slows down with any movement. Not to confuse you, but ANY MOVEMENT thru space/time (all 4 dimensions at once) is at the speed of light. This is according to Special Relativity. From The Elegant Universe p.50 "...all objects at rest relative to us, move thru time, they age at exactly the same rate. If an object does move thru space, this means that some it's motion thru time must be diverted." This is how space-time works, according to Special Relativity. Your question on gravity, I'll leave to someone else here at SDC, because I'm not sure. <div class="Discussion_UserSignature"> <p><font size="4"><strong></strong></font></p> </div>

S

search