Had an idea about how gravity works (Long)

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

and_then

Sorry. This is LONG but I would really like to hear some thoughts on this idea I had. This would be better with graphics, but I am no artist - so maybe it really wouldn't. <br /><br /><br />For some time I have been unable to completely accept certain basic theories of Physics pertaining to gravity and other principle interactions. Recently I saw a presentation of The Elegant Universe in which a visual aid was used in explaining the way in which objects of substantial gravity warp space-time (the image was that of sun and an orbiting planet causing a trampoline-like deformation in an otherwise two-dimensional grid) and how other objects of gravity are then caught in that deformation. <br /><br />When grasping behavior characteristics of Physics, I generally try to form graphical models in my own mind that are as accurate as possible in how a situation scales up to more complex/all-inclusive perspectives. So, realizing the limitations of that model, I tried to view a similar two-dimensional “sun†object that is located within the same two-dimensional grid. However instead of having the grid warp to represent gravity’s effect, I imagined individual dots (or pixels - infinitely small points) organized around my sun, with the density of those dots at any given region representing the strength of the effect of gravity in that region. <br /><br />With my sun and the simulated effects of its gravitational field established in my model, I then included the additional complexity of an orbiting earth, also including it’s own gradient of gravity dots. <br /><br />Viewing this model, it quickly becomes apparent that there is the greatest concentration of these gravity dots along the straight line connecting the sun and earth. So I noted the possibility that these gravity particles could potentially form a “chain†or “glue,†attracting each other more strongly as they become more densely p