How do they form?

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

space_futurist

Since i was interested in space all my life i studied lots of information about space, but i never understood, how do gas giants form? Anybody can answer a difference between regular planet forming and gas giant forming?

B

bushwhacker

Now I'm probably totally wrong about this.

But to my understanding as a star lights up most of the gas and dust is blown away to the farther reaches of the system. Any inner planets wouldnt have a large supply of gasses but the outer ones would.

S

SpaceTas

The theory of planet formation is changing rapidly with many active debates.
So only a broad outline, starting at the point where the gas cloud has contracted to a disk with a proto-star at the center.
Also ignore migration of giant planets; which gives rise to the close-in hot Jupiters/Neptunes maybe some super-earths.

At all distances, solid cores form or a ranging in mass from less than the Earth mass to several earth masses form. These are generally bigger and more numerous beyond the "snow line". The snow line is the distance where ice can condense out of the disk. In fact the general pattern of denser planets closer to the sun than further out is explained by the temperature decreasing with distance from the proto-sun. At Mercury minerals/elements with higher condensation temperatures can form solid grains. Higher density materials generally have higher condensation temperature.

Water is common in the universe so there is just more solids frozen out beyond the snow line, so the cores are bigger say round the few earth masses. Through collisions, gravitational interactions these cores are whittled down. All cores can accumulate hydrogen helium atmospheres, but in colder parts of the disk it is easier. Some cores will outpace rest and grow to giant planet size (Jupiter/Saturn or larger), others Nepture/Uranus size then on down.