How long would it take an asteroid...

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

CthulhuRises

Hello,

New to the site. I'm a writer and general astronomy enthusiast working on a current project set in space. I have a question needed for the work, as I want to keep things as scientifically accurate as possible. How long would it take an asteroid (a large one) originating in the asteroid belt to reach Mars (hypothetically an asteroid has been deflected from the belt is on course to hit Mars, how many years would it take to reach the Red Planet?)

Thanks in advance!

S

SteveCNC

Welcome aboard !
While I can't tell you a time frame even with all the data as that's not in my realm of understanding . However I do know enough to know that for the accuracy your after you would need to supply more information . Like why did this asteroid get ejected from the asteroid belt ? Collision , human influence , jupiters influence or something else ? And how big is it ? What's it's composition ?

M

MeteorWayne

Really, the size and composition don't affect it. The relevant questions are what was it's orbit before the change, and what changed the orbit. Mass and composition might make a difference as far as how much the orbit was changed from the original event. Depending on what that event was, as Steve said.

Once established, heliocentric (sun centered) orbits don't care about the mass of the object.

K

kelvinzero

In a way size does matter because we are talking statistics and luck. If we were talking grain sized, they are probably hitting all the time, so the time to divert one to hit would be zero.

I found this list of mars crossing asteroids. Perhaps we should restrict ourselves to one of these?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Ma ... or_planets

(hmm.. I looked at a few and noticed that they dont seem to have sizes, only brightness)

D

DarkSands