How will navigation be accomplished on space ships?

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

danimarie37

I am a writer. I am writing about a ship that can travel across the Milky Way but not further. I want some opinions about how navigation will work if human beings avoid extinction long enough to develop such a craft. I love Star Trek, but the whole alpha quadrant, delta quadrant thing isn't precise enough. Any ideas?

X

xXTheOneRavenXx

I personally would us software for 3D renderings of constellation maps. Software can be programed to predict what pattern the stars of each constellation would appear in from various angles. From this point the software could take a live photographic overlay as seen by the navigator to determine current position. This data could be fed into another software to plot these points on a 3D graphic map of the galaxy. With this data triangulation would be made easier. Perhaps by this you could orient your craft.

Z

ZenGalacticore

danimarie37":2axcuv8q said:
I am a writer. I am writing about a ship that can travel across the Milky Way but not further. I want some opinions about how navigation will work if human beings avoid extinction long enough to develop such a craft. I love Star Trek, but the whole alpha quadrant, delta quadrant thing isn't precise enough. Any ideas?

It seems to me that like the sailors of yore, they would navigate by the stars. :lol:

Seriously. They would obviously have computers advanced enough to tell them the relative positions of these and those known stars, as well as their bearings in-transit with such 'spacemarks' as the center of the galaxy, the Large and Small Magellenic clouds, cephied variables, supergiants like Beetlegeuse and Arcturas, the constellations, the Orion Nebula, etc.