I'm looking to buy a telescope but need some help??

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

steve_thomas

I'm looking to buy a telescope but i'm not sure what to look for. Can you please tell me what to look for? I want something good but not to exspensive? Thanks for your help. :D

S

SpeedFreek

Hi there Steve, welcome to the SDC (space dot com) forums! :)

I'm not an expert on telescopes but there are a lot of folks around here that know their stuff. One thing I have seen posted here a lot is that different types of telescope are better suited for viewing different types of celestial objects.

So, what are you particularly interesting in viewing? Do you want the telescope to be portable or will it be set up in a permanent position? Is there a lot of light pollution where you live? Also, on a limited budget, sometimes a good quality set of binoculars can get better results than a cheap telescope and will be more rewarding.

If you could post what your budget is, and what you are more interested in (planets? nebulae? galaxies? photography? etc) then some of our telescope experts will be better able to make a recommendation. :)

M

MeteorWayne

The first and obvious bit of advice is to read the topic pinned at the top "Looking to buy your first telescope, Read This!"

A number of folks went to a lot of effort just to answer the very question you have, and there's a ton of great advice in there. Before you go any further, I'd suggest you spend the time reading it all the way through before spending your money. Unless you'd rather spend your money before you know what you should be looking for :)

Welcome to Space.com!

Wayne

R

RichardG

Steve,
Be very thankful you found this site and forum BEFORE you bought a telescope. I have been reading this forum for almost a week now and have found it a significant source of great information. I have one regret about my new hobby and that is that I didn't find this site first.