ISS Questions from a Newcomer - can anyone help?

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

EAK09

Greetings -- this is my first time here since 1999. Impressive community here. I was hoping that some/any of you might be able to point me to some educational resources. I was involved with Aerospace a couple of careers ago, but discovering a NASA cable television program reminded me how much I miss the topics I grew up dreaming of. Thanks in advance for tolerating some potentially silly-sounding questions (I had a list of about 12).

Here was my first question.
Can anyone answer...

Progress vs. Soyuz -- what's the difference?
I'm assuming these are one and the same, only with and without crew vs. cargo.
I'd aslo venture that progress craft lack reentery heat shields?

Thank you.

Hi EAK09

Welcome to SDC.

That is NOT a silly question, far from it.

Yes you are broadly correct. A Progress is a Soyuz type craft with no heatshield.

A couple of links below.
Progress Vehicle.

Soyuz Vehicle.

Andrew Brown.

E

EAK09

3488":2csswlyt said:
Hi EAK09

Welcome to SDC.

Yes you are broadly correct. A Progress is a Soyuz type craft with no heatshield.

A couple of links below.
Progress Vehicle.

Soyuz Vehicle.

Andrew Brown.
3488":2csswlyt said:
Hi EAK09

Welcome to SDC.

Andrew Brown.

Thank you.
I'll read up.
I'm curious -- do you know how ISS crew ever use these while docked?

In particular...

More Room! -- I could imagine crew taking dibs on who got to use the next progress/soyuz as their private quarters.
In the interest of having more room as often as possible, I would imagine that crew would want all available docs to have progress/soyuz craft connected to them.

Trash... I understand that progress/soyuz are periodically sent back to burn up in earth's atomosphere laden with trash. I wonder, what dictates what trash reenters this way versus being directly jettisoned (I assume they do that too?).

ISS crew supply requirements -- what are they?