Saw a Planet at 9:am on clear morning??.....

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

ford001

Hi all, I'm a newbie to this site. I came across it while looking for some info on what I'm about sure was a planet I saw this morning.<br /><br />I was watching a military jet fly over thru binoculars, and noticed through the contrail I could see something shining. As the contrail faded, I was sure I was looking at a planet. <br /><br />It was high in the southern sky from where I'm at in the NE corner of Washington State. I got my spotting scope to try and see it clearer, but had trouble finding it thru the scope.<br /><br />I looked thru my May issue of Astronomy Magazine, but couldn't find any planets that would be in that position at that time. <br /><br />I had thought to see a planet at that time of day, and at that height, it would have to have been large like Jupiter or Saturn, but they are not supposed to be there at that time.<br /><br />Any ideas on what planet it may have been?<br /><br />Also as I was searching for the planet/star thru the binocs a few minutes later, I spotted something moving across the sky at a slow pace west to east. It was shiny and headed towards the sun, so I could only follow it for a short while. A minute or so later, I had the same thing happen, and the second object moved at the same steady pace, and was in almost the same spot.<br /><br />My question with these is, could they have been satillittes, and is it common to be able to see them reflecting in the daytime? I have seen dozens of them at night, and these seemed to move in the same way.<br /><br />Thanks in adavnce for any info. I'll be out tomorrow morning again to see if I can spot the planet/star.

C

CalliArcale