Some Astro Q's

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Cesc

Hi guys,

Im currently studying astrophysics in school and im finding it really interesting! However, I came across 2 questions that I found difficult and needed help with answering.

The given information is of a brightness vs time graph is given (in the shape much like a cepheid variable) for 50hrs. The brightness ranges from 7.8 to 7.0

Q1. Is this star an intrinsic variable or an extrinsic variable? Justify your answer.
I know the answer is pretty straightforward and simple an intrinsic variable but whats the best way to justify?

Q2. Using the Period-Luminosity relationships that is given, determine the distance of the star from Earth.
Now, upon working the period (which was 18hrs), i correlated that to absolute magnitude to get an answer of 0.35. My problem is I know im supposed to use the formula m-M=5log(d/10) but I don't know how to find m? (upon which after that, I will simply make d the subject)

I dont know if this is the right place to ask and im sorry if im taking much of your valuable time, but I hope you have the kindness to help me out

Thanks in advance, cesc

D

drwayne

This looks a lot like a "Help me with my homework" post, is this homework? It's best to be upfront about
that sort of thing.

Wayne

M

MeteorWayne

Yes, in general we don't like doing your homework for you, since we don't get the grades, and you don't learn anything if we do it for you.

The Other Wayne

C

Cesc

Hi,