Space Elevator -- Other options beyond ribbon/CNT?

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

waimea

I am just learning about space elevators and the proposed technology surrounding them -- why does it seem like the focus is only on carbon nanotubes and ribbons -- is there any discussion about other potentially viable alternatives? To be frank -- a "beam up me scotty" possibility, as in moving a payload along a cushion of some sort? When all is said and done, the popular space elevator version seems like an upgraded version of a ski lift, with all the exposure and vulnerability and clunkiness. Can anyone point me in the right direction regarding discussions of other space elevator ideas?

N

nexium