Thinking of astronomy in college..

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Rianu91

<p>&nbsp;Hello this is my first post in the forum. What brings me here is my interest in astronomy that goes back to as far as i can remember. When i first was able to read, i was reading through basic astronomy books (of course with large pictures!). Now that my high school career ends in a year, i must think of what colleges i will attend, and ultimately what i am going to do for a living. I am seriously considering majoring in astronomy. I do not doubt my ability to pass the rigorous course required for this field, so that is not my main concern. Can anyone give any advice or encouragement? Maybe what you do on a day to day basis? What do you expect astronomers to be researching in 10 years? Thanks ahead of time for the comments.</p><p>&nbsp;And by the way i am looking to purchase a telescope. Anyone have any recommendations for a small scope around 200-250 dollars? I have heard of dobsonians but not sure one the best ones to buy.</p>

D

derekmcd