Titan - Ganymedes

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

aerogi

Hello all! I'm a newbie and altough space and astronomy is one of my favourite interests, I'm not an expert on the matter... so here's a first question I have for some time now.<br /><br />How come that Titan has such a dense atmosphere and Ganymedes has no atmosphere at all? is there an explanation for that? Did it ever had an atmosphere? <br /><br />Thanks!

R

remcook

One reason I can think of is that Ganymede is warmer than Titan, since it closer to the Sun. because of this, the molecules have more energy and escape more easily from the gravity field of the moon.

T

titanian

I also think ( as well as James Jeans) that the temperature at this distance from the Sun is the main factor to what we can call the "Titan Paradox" but there might be be other factors( how fast it rotates, volcanism...).You can refer to the following web site for attempts of explanation: www.titanexploration.com<br />Note that the theoretical temperature at the surface of a dark body orbiting the Sun at the same distance as Titan is only (around) 30 degrees lower than the theoritical temperature at the same distance as Ganymede.This would have made the difference for the amazing stability of the titanian atmosphere.

O

odysseus145

Could the intense radiation from Jupiter have prevented its moons from forming an atmosphere? <div class="Discussion_UserSignature"> </div>

C

CalliArcale