Unusual bright flashing in the sky! Can anyone explain?

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

averagejoe

I was stargazing with my girlfriend and brother tonight about 2300h. What we saw was very unexpected, and while I'm no expert at astronomy, I was incredibly surprised at what we all saw. I was thinking maybe someone here can help explain this for me. <br /><br />At 49*N, we were looking straight up. We could see the constellations Cygnus and Lyra. While watching, we saw a number of +3 magnitude satellites as well as one Iridium flash about magnitude -4. The thing that was astounding to us was bright flashing in the empty space between stars in Cygnus, Lyra, as well as in the space between the Big Dipper and Polaris. I estimate these flashes ranged from magnitude -2 to +2.<br /><br />They were not satellites. I've seen satellites, meteors, and such. I know there's the Delta Aquarid meteor shower going on. But these things flashed like supernovae out of nowhere. For the brief milliseconds they appeared, they looked just like the stars around them. In each of these locations, we saw between one and three bright flashes. The oddest was the first event we saw, which was around the constellation Draco, where two flashes (~ mag 0) was followed by another flash (~ mag +2) just NE of it! None of these events seemed to be in any kind of noticeable pattern. <br /><br />I tried to capture one of these with my digital camera's camcorder function, but did not succeed as we didn't see any more. We saw, only in that part of the sky, about 5 such events in the course of 15 minutes. We're totally stumped as to what it might be. Can anyone help? Thanks!

J

jimmysvibing