Viewing NOAA-N launch

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

msiegel

Hello,<br />I am thinking about seeing the NOAA-N launch early Wednesday. From what I can read, the best place to view it is Santa Ynez peak. If you've seen launches at VAFB, is this indeed the best spot? I'll be coming from the north, so I'd rather not go farther south. If you know of other sites north, please share.<br /><br />Also, regarding Santa Ynez... The car ride up sounds a little dicey (Danger note in directions). I'm a safe driver, but I'd be in a minivan. Will making it to the top be a problem? I'll be arriving and leaving in the dark? Also, I just read about needing an AdventurePass. In your experience, is this necessary in the middle of the night?<br /><br />Thanks in advance for an advice you can provide.<br />Yours, Marc

S

SpaceKiwi

Just a reminder to those up around the planet that NASA TV has begun live coverage of this launch.<br /><br />T-130 minutes approx, everything nominal at this time. <div class="Discussion_UserSignature"> <p><em><font size="2" color="#ff0000">Who is this superhero?  Henry, the mild-mannered janitor ... could be!</font></em></p><p><em><font size="2">-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------</font></em></p><p><font size="5">Bring Back The Black!</font></p> </div>

S

SpaceKiwi

Correction, working a 'water deluge pump' problem. Launch requires 3 of 4 pumps to be operational. <div class="Discussion_UserSignature"> <p><em><font size="2" color="#ff0000">Who is this superhero?  Henry, the mild-mannered janitor ... could be!</font></em></p><p><em><font size="2">-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------</font></em></p><p><font size="5">Bring Back The Black!</font></p> </div>

S

SpaceKiwi