What was the "flashing star" before dawn on Aug 13th?

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

chadch

I'm a complete amateur here, but had a question about something we observed this morning.

We live in central Texas. We were out between 5am and 6am this morning watching the Perseid Meteor Shower. At one point there was a bright light flashing. It was not visible most of the time. In otherwords, most of the time there was nothing there. It would flash orange 5 or 6 times then go dark again. The intensity of the light was not always the same, it seemed like the frequency of the flashes was not the same, and the object when visible was not moving (ie not an airplane). It did this process 2 or 3 times and then we never saw it again. We were facing NE and the object was between 15 and 30 degrees up from the horizon. When it was visible it was one of the brightest lights in the sky, but not quite as bright as Jupiter was at that time. To be clear, it was not twinkling... it was flashing on and off.

Any ideas on what this was?

C

crazyeddie

chadch":n1od0jda said:
I'm a complete amateur here, but had a question about something we observed this morning.

We live in central Texas. We were out between 5am and 6am this morning watching the Perseid Meteor Shower. At one point there was a bright light flashing. It was not visible most of the time. In otherwords, most of the time there was nothing there. It would flash orange 5 or 6 times then go dark again. The intensity of the light was not always the same, it seemed like the frequency of the flashes was not the same, and the object when visible was not moving (ie not an airplane). It did this process 2 or 3 times and then we never saw it again. We were facing NE and the object was between 15 and 30 degrees up from the horizon. When it was visible it was one of the brightest lights in the sky, but not quite as bright as Jupiter was at that time. To be clear, it was not twinkling... it was flashing on and off.