• Launch Day is nearly upon us! Head over to this thread and share your thoughts before, during, and after Crew Dragon finally lifts off.

Where are the Aliens, their space hardware, or other hard evidence ?

May 10, 2020
Since Roswell, why hasn't one civilian in the whole world taken a photo of an alien, a crashed alien space craft, or other hard evidence of their existence. What say you ?

Mar 19, 2020
No doubt many others around the world have commented on this issue, but this is my first time. Had to give it a go!

The "alien questions" reminds me of the famous one Enrico Fermi asked some colleagues back in 1950, long after they had finished developing the nuclear weapons that would bring an end to the war against the Allies and Japan.

It is known as the "Fermi Paradox". *

Fermi was wondering about the age of the universe, and that there are so many galaxies and planets, and many are all so old. This suggested to him that aliens should have visited us by now - indeed many of them!

His question was very simple: "Where is everybody?"

At the time, I suppose, it seemed a reasonable question. Apparently not many really understood space travel and how long it might take to get to another solar system, even the closest one! But it also assumed that worlds with life were abundant throughout the galaxy, and universe. This may also be true, but the question makes some assumptions that render it more of a questionable question rather than a paradox, at least to some of us.

Make no mistake, Fermi was very clever, but I don't think he thought this out too well. It requires a number of assumptions that may not be accurate, much less attainable. To simplify things, we will assume the galaxy has a lot of worlds with life on them, so we will just consider visitors from within the Milky Way. ( No references to the ‎Drake Equation please, which argues both ways depending on how it is interpreted.)