Where is the big hole?

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

BoJangles

<p style="margin:0cm0cm10pt" class="MsoNormal"><font face="Calibri" size="3">If the universe is expanding from a single point, shouldn&rsquo;t there be a big gaping hole representing the centre of the explosion?</font></p><p style="margin:0cm0cm10pt" class="MsoNormal"><font face="Calibri" size="3">I.e. we are shown the penny and balloon analogy, you stick pennies on a balloon, and watch them uniformly expand. Now if that is the case (and I'm no expert to say it isn&rsquo;t), where is the big hole it leaves? unless of course, things aren&rsquo;t expanding at the same pace. This seems counter intuitive.</font></p><p style="margin:0cm0cm10pt" class="MsoNormal"><font face="Calibri" size="3">It would mean some weird inverse square maths must be going on with matter closer to the true centre of the explosion, would it not?</font></p> <div class="Discussion_UserSignature"> <p align="center"><font color="#808080">-------------- </font></p><p align="center"><font size="1" color="#808080"><em>Let me start out with the standard disclaimer ... I am an idiot, I know almost nothing, I haven’t taken calculus, I don’t work for NASA, and I am one-quarter Bulgarian sheep dog.  With that out of the way, I have several stupid questions... </em></font></p><p align="center"><font size="1" color="#808080"><em>*** A few months blogging can save a few hours in research ***</em></font></p> </div>

N

nimbus