Why can't we take good pictures of Pluto?

Status
Not open for further replies.
O

Ortix

I don't quite understand why we can't take good pictures of Pluto or comets in the kuiper belt but can detect galaxies essentially 13 billion light years away.

As an AP Physics student i should know and my guess is the focal point of the lens has something to do with this. I think it's like taking a picture from the Apollo landing sight here from the moon. Is this correct?

Just wondering :)

O

origin

Ortix":3swtv18l said:
I don't quite understand why we can't take good pictures of Pluto or comets in the kuiper belt but can detect galaxies essentially 13 billion light years away.

As an AP Physics student i should know and my guess is the focal point of the lens has something to do with this. I think it's like taking a picture from the Apollo landing sight here from the moon. Is this correct?

Just wondering :)

No it has nothing to do with the focal point.

It is simply that Pluto is very small and faint while galaxies are very large and bright.

G

Gravity_Ray

Ortix":f1u8n128 said:
I don't quite understand why we can't take good pictures of Pluto

Cause Pluto keeps hiding behind Mickey...

Sorry, Im a bit punch drunk working all day... Here is the picture of Pluto HST did take.

http://hubblesite.org/newscenter/archiv ... es/1996/09

I guess its not what you would call a "good picture of Pluto", and that is because of the other answer you got. Another way to say it is for the same reason you can clearly see the Moon with just your eyes but you cannot see an ant on the ground 20 feet away.

Hi Gravity_Ray, you have it spot on.

IIRC the images of Pluto you have linked to are still the best to date.

New Horizons hopefully will produce 40 metre resolution images of Pluto, or at least the area beneath New Horizons at closest approach. Charon will be seen at 80 metre resolution at closest approach.

Andrew Brown.

Y

yale_s

Hubble can resolve 0.05 arcseconds.