Can We Do This?

Status
Not open for further replies.
V

vh5150

Long-time lurker, first-time poster... Briefly, I'm a 42-year old physician living in the Midwest. I greatly appreciate the knowledge, expertise, feedback, etc., expressed on these forums. Now to the point...<br /><br />Given the recent launch delays with STS, give me (and other less-interested taxpayers, politicians, etc.) some reasons for optimism that the following can be achieved:<br /><br />1) The Shuttle can undertake 15 more missions (by the end of 2010) to complete the International Space Station (and maybe one more Hubble servicing/re-boost).<br /><br />2) The VSE components can be implemented to get us back to the moon and possibly beyond before we're all really old.<br /><br />Fact of the matter is, most "average" Americans don't share our passion for human space exploration; they've become numb to the past 30 years of floating around in low-earth orbit. We need something ambitious and exciting soon to re-kindle the interest that seemed to touch everybody during the Mercury/Gemini/Apollo days. <br /><br />Is there reason for hope? Give me some...

P

PistolPete