ET-less SDV with clustered SRB's?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Y

yummylicious2323

Hello everybody! I'm new to this forum. Here's my little pitch; it may be naive (sorry! i'm a bio-engineering student, not aeronautical or mechanical), or perhaps it will be worth your while.<br /><br />It seems that most heavy lift SDV concepts revolve around a modified ET with twin strap on boosters, be they 4 segments, five, solid, liquid, flyback, whatever.<br />But they are always limited to only two booster, the main reason being that the ET is structurally unable to handle the thrust load of anything more than the twin flanking rocket. But what if we get rid of the ET altogether and instead array several SRB's (3? 6? 8? i don't know how many) around a lightweight central trusswork? A second stage with the payload can be mounted atop this assembly.

R

rogers_buck

The SRBs are pretty heavy so you wouldn't want them along as second stage dead weight. They don't burn all that long either, so you would need them along as seconds stage dead weight. Too many burning at once and your pulling too many Gs. I don't know how all those trade-offs "stack up" . The SSMEs burn for a long time after the SRBs burn out.

Y

yummylicious2323

I was imagining that the second stage would be typical, liquid fueled. Since the vehicle would be unmanned, it can withstand greater G loads. And lastly, the SRB propellent can be reformulated for longer burns.

S

SpaceKiwi