first post / black holes and baby universes

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

moonchef

<p>Hello, let me first start off by saying that im not a scientist or even a student (yet).&nbsp; i've been somewhat trolling the space forum for a few months now and its been pretty exciting reading the debates and posts, i've learned quite a lot and done a&nbsp;lot of my own research to better understand the topcis being discussed.</p><p>With that said i just finished reading my first physics type book, black holes and baby universes.&nbsp; i've got my questions about the book, but i think its more about understanding the vocabulary and terminology (the mathmatical equations are obviously over my head for now).&nbsp; My question is a simple one really.&nbsp; Does anyone have any reccomendations on any more good physics books?&nbsp; im honestly a little worried about older publications mostly because i can gather that therioes and ideas are for the most part constantly being changed or tweaked.&nbsp; i figured that reading a hawking book was safe read for someone like me with limited knowledge on the subject.</p><p>On the book itself i just have one question.&nbsp; Imaginary time.&nbsp; i understand what he means by it, but is it an idea that just sort of fizzled out over the years.&nbsp; i havent seen any mention of it here and in the book he basically describes imaginary time as "the next big thing".&nbsp; just curious.&nbsp; thx in adavance.</p> <div class="Discussion_UserSignature"> </div>

D

DrRocket