McNeil Nebula

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

claywoman

Okay...I was looking at the pictures of the McNeil Nebula and I want to congratulate him on his extraordinary find! However, I do have a question that puzzles me. I've been reading more and more on stars and their colors, and they call this a 'newborn' star, but I thought new stars were hot and thus blue, but this one is red, which I thought denoted an 'old' cooling star. I'm confused here...

C

claywoman

Could someone please help me here? I know I'm not a scientist, I'm a historian but very interested in this subject and I'm confused here...

T

thalion

There are two kinds of star colors. One is related to a star's spectral class, which falls into one of seven categories (nine, if you include brown dwarf classes): O, B, A, F, G, K, M. The hottest are the massive O stars, which are blue-white, and the coolest are the low-mass M stars, which are reddish. Our Sun is a G2 star, making it a kind of yellow--of course, only noticeable if we could see it from a distance. <br /><br />The other color of a star is its apparent color, which depends largely on how much dust is obscuring a star's light. Interstellar and nebular dust preferentially absorbs blue light, making stars look redder than they really are.<br /><br />The short answer to the question is: A star's intrinsic color is dependent mainly on its mass and age. A new star, one that has actually fired up fusion in its core, can be any color from red to blue-white, depending on its mass. "Red" only denotes old when it comes to red giant and supergiant stars, which one would never see still cloaked in the dust of their formation.<br /><br />More on spectral classes:<br />http://www.astro.uiuc.edu/projects/sow/spectra.html

S

Saiph