NASA's website

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

kg

What do folks think of NASA's website? It seems to me that they are doing an amazing job at outreach. It seems like they have put alot into it. Is it maintained by NASA engeneers or is it farmed out to a public relations firm? Are they explaining their science goals and results well? I'm not a scientist myself but I think they are doing a much better job then what I see in the newspapers.

O

origin

kg":3v3391rs said:
What do folks think of NASA's website? It seems to me that they are doing an amazing job at outreach. It seems like they have put alot into it. Is it maintained by NASA engeneers or is it farmed out to a public relations firm? Are they explaining their science goals and results well? I'm not a scientist myself but I think they are doing a much better job then what I see in the newspapers.

I think it is great site and I agree with you. I hope to god they do a better job than the newspapers! :)

edited to add - Not all newspapers get it wrong - just most.

E

EarthlingX

kg":rjiawx42 said:
I think it's a mess, and a labyrinth. Extremely hard to find something, you have to rely on bookmarks. A lot of dead links, leading to non-existing pages, not updated subpages, and i could go on - most painful is, they have everything suited for IE, and MS programs, which i avoid in a very big circle, for too many reasons to state here.
I also don't like Quick-time, it sucks, in short. More RealPlayer links, to start with, and do something about dead links.

Putting all of the centres on one site is also bad idea. I always, as soon as i can find it, bookmark link, which is not on the main site, which is too slow and too cluttered.

I could continue for a very long time.

edit.