Newbie, with opinions on CEV!

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

darkenfast

Good evening! I have just joined and wanted to toss out my thoughts regarding the CEV and possible launcher. Although I am not an engineer (retired U.S. Navy turned playwright), I have been following both the U.S. and Soviet/Russian space programs since the 60's. While I would love to see things like SSTO's, and other exotica, I have come to the conclusion that the approach represented by the ATK shuttle-derived SRB/J-2S and the Apollo-shaped capsule represent the best way forward for the next couple of decades. <br />Some of my reasons:<br />1. Safety. The combination of SRB (1 motor) and J-2 (1 engine) is proven. Add in the escape tower (they DO work, just ask the Russians), and you have as safe a rocket as you will ever see. The "capsule with a heat shield" is also safer. The Russians had casualties early on, mostly from rushed work, but they have also survived some truly hairly situations. I found a report done for ATK on the safety of the proposal and it was impressive (of course, it was biased for them, but still...)<br />2. Suitability for deep-space. Apollo was the only manned spacecraft to ever venture beyond LEO. I believe the CEV can fufill that role well (a common hull in LEO and deep space versions, I presume). The drawing I have of the ATK proposed launcher shows a capsule with a base diameter of 201 inches, which is a considerable increase over the Apollo CM. That drawing may be purely conjectural as regards the CEV, but it seems like a versatile size for a variety of missions. <br />3. Cost. There is no way around the fact that our culture is simply not willing to spend as much as we here would like on something as "frivolous" and "wasteful" as space travel. We (the U.S.) are not the same country as we were in the early 60's. This launcher/CEV approach has got to be the cheapest by far to develop and fly repeatedly. <br />The work and sacrifices that have gone into the