Size of new planets found

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

clsmeeks

I am new to this so please don't bet me up over this question. I am wondering if anyone has any information, on the size of planets that are being found by planet hunters. Are large gas giants like jupiter apt to be closer in to larger suns or still farther out like jupiter is in our solar system. Any help would be appreciated.

J

Jazman1985

http://kepler.nasa.gov/

link to a planet hunting scope, when it's done it should have found 1000's of new planets. Kepler will find planets closest to their suns at first, due to the small time required to observe a transit. Later on, it should be able to detect planets farther out, towards a 1 year orbit, it requires at least 2-3 years to determine a planets orbit at this distance from the star. Right now, it has detected Kepler 7b(among a few others that have been confirmed), http://kepler.nasa.gov/Mission/discoveries/kepler7b/ , which is the smallest discovered.

M

MeteorWayne

clsmeeks":1dw4hwza said:
I am new to this so please don't bet me up over this question. I am wondering if anyone has any information, on the size of planets that are being found by planet hunters. Are large gas giants like jupiter apt to be closer in to larger suns or still farther out like jupiter is in our solar system. Any help would be appreciated.

This is the most comprehensive and up to date list I have found (Current count is up to 455 now)

http://exoplanet.eu/catalog.php

If you click on each type (such as All candidates detected, or the subsets by method), you will get:

PLANET
Mass (MJup) - stats
Radius (RJup) - stats
PERIOD (days) - stats
SEMI-MAJOR AXIS (AU) - stats
ECCENTRICITY.
INCLINATION. (deg) - stats
STATUS
DISCOV. (year)
UPDATE

Wayne

PS, Welcome to Space.com!!

C

clsmeeks