Transit time from Low Earth Orbit to a Geostationary Orbit

Apr 15, 2024
Visit site
Hi there.
This is my first time in "space."
In fact, I have learned more about space - and space travel in the last few months than ever before - as I am writing a fictional children's book about a young space explorer. I began writing it in October - with a launch date planned for late in the year or early 2025!
I am wondering if anyone can give me some guidance on how long - approximately - it would take a spaceship the size of the shuttle to transit from a low earth orbit to a geostationary orbit.

Is it hours, days, or weeks?

Would the spaceship have to undergo a "burn" to commence the transition - and then carry out another "burn" to stabilse when in the new orbit?

Although the book is (hopefully) going to be filled with funny-far-fetched episodes - I also want to have a semblance of credibility when it comes to distances and times to move from one location to another.

Thanks in advance!
Alistair

Catastrophe

"Science begets knowledge, opinion ignorance.
Welcome Alistair.

It seems to me that you have your answer. Whatever the approach (e.g., low Earth orbit), you arrive at the location and need to adjust your velocity to get your geostationary effect. The time needed, as I see it, depends on the sensitivity of the 'burn' controls. If you have a fine degree of control, it should not take long - probably minutes, or less. If the controls are more 'rough', meaning you might overdo the burn, put on the brakes resulting in overcorrection - then overdo burn again - it could take any time. Does this sound reasonable?

Arriving at your location, and pointing in the right direction, you adjust your velocity carefully and slowly until the ground appears stationary beneath you. My guess (depending on sensitivity) would be, say, five minutes or so.

Cat :)

Reactions: Alistair