Universe Origin Thought Experiment

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

aaronb

Hi everyone! While lying in bed a thought occured to me one night. I'm sure since I'm a layman and not proficient in advanced math that this is wrong on some fundamental level but I would love to have someone run through this thought experiment with me. . . . ok for this to work you have to make a few leaps of faith:

1st- Dark energy or vaccum energy is real (is it? Who knows)
2nd- E=MC^2
3rd- If 2 is correct then matter and energy at some level can spont change from 1 to the other.

Ok. . . . so let's start this train rolling at current time, some 13-14bil yrs after the "big bang" We see that we are in an accelerating universe. (assuming our observations are correct) We assume this is caused by some form of vaccum or dark enegy. Let's suppose this energy is inherant to space itself. the more space expands, the more energy is present at any given point leading to exponential growth. (so far so good, haven't traveled off the beaten path with modern physics.)

We keep expanding ever faster, galaxies recede, superclusters tear apart, then galaxies, then solar systems all the way down to atoms (current "big rip" theory).

Let's say the expansion doesn't stop. Space keeps expanding beyond this point exponentially. The more it expands the more energy it contains on and on and on and on for trillions of yrs.

If e=mc^2 then matter and energy are the same thing. If this exponential energy growth continues for long enough wouldn't there eventually be enough energy embedded in the fabric of space itself to spontaneously "explode" into matter creating a new universe? granted the amount of energy contained in one proton is extreme much less the whole universe, but keep in mind we have been undergoing exp energy growth for trillions of years.