Why is the pm system so primitive at SDC?

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Smersh

I've been wondering about this for some while. Private messages here are not really very good atm.

You can't preview a pm before sending to see what it looks like and you can't quote from a pm you've received when replying to that pm - you have to copy / paste if you want to do that.

There have also been instances in which I viewed a pm just after I sent it, then the person I was sending it to said he got it SIX times (that might have been fixed now though, not sure.)

This is very odd, because at Larger Than Life (the site and board I'm an admin on with some friends) we have a much earlier version of phpBB than here at SDC and our pm's are just like posts in threads - you can preview before sending, quote in replies, include pictures etc etc.

Thanks.

D

doublehelix

Hi guys, one of the reasons the PM system looks a bit different and acts a bit different from the rest of phpBB is that we needed to connect it to our own profile system. We styled some things differently, and with our compressed timeline back in February, we had to pick and choose what to include and what not to include.

I will tell you that the PM system is slated to get an upgrade; when, it is not certain, and I apologize for not being able to give you a more exact timeframe. There are other things we want to do to enhance the community platform here, too, and when we have the time to dive into them, I'll let you all know. No timeline is set right now, but it is certainly in the plans. We have upgraded the PM system once since we relaunched, so I am confident that when I'm told we will upgrade again, it will happen!

Thanks for the feedback. I sent your post to the Product Manager, so she's aware. :mrgreen:

-dh

S

Smersh

Thanks a lot for the info DH and for your prompt reply. :)

N

nimbus

To date, I've had two PMs arrive blank. Seems like something's broken somewhere.

S

Smersh