A strange question about the sun

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

weeman

This isn't a majorly debatable question, just something that I was randomly pondering:

In a hypothetical situation, if we could stand on the surface of the sun how far would the horizon be? On Earth, if you're in a relatively flat region (i.e. Kansas, Oklahoma, etc.) you can basically see the same distance in every direction. So, with the sun being as large as it is, and not having tall mountains or deep valleys, how far could you see to the horizon? Do astronomers have calculations for horizons depending on the size of the celestial body? Do astronomers even waste time trying to figure it out?

Not sure why I was pondering this, but it just struck me as interesting.

K

kg

Great question. Here is the formula (acording to Wikepedia) for finding the distance to the horizon.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Horizon#Ap ... e_formulas
I'm only a professional farrier so if it doesn't involve smacking something with a hammer I'm not qualified. Maybe someone with a calculator could....
Besides the obvious, (the sun being so bright all you would probably see was the back of your own skull as you were being vaporized) the sun might be massive enough for general relativity to play a role in how far away the vilsible horizon was.

B

bdewoody

It's just a simple math problem. If you set your eye at the surface the horizon is zero. At six feet height it would be approximately 31 miles.

R

R1

So if the Sun's surface was flat and solid, how many miles would the horizon appear to be
to a six foot tall demon standing on the Sun ?

(I think that's what weeman asks.)

I

InnyBinny

R1":1j84zul1 said:
So if the Sun's surface was flat and solid, how many miles would the horizon appear to be

Pretty much what bdewoody said. The answer varies a lot depending on what height you are and how many d.p.'s you use.

[sun radius = 6.96*10^8m, 6ft = 1.8288m]

The equation of the sun's circle is: