Andromeda collision question

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

rhetoric

I'm an absolute novice so please forgive me if this is a stupid question. But there are a couple things I've heard that I can't reconcile. Either I heard them wrong, or there's just another piece to the puzzle I am not familiar with.

1: The universe is expanding (or stretching as the case may be) and all other galaxies are moving away from us.

2: The Milky Way will collide with the Andromeda galaxy in something like 3 billion years.

Assuming #1 is true, then how could #2 be true? I figure that I must be stating #1 incorrectly since I'm more certain about #2. Can someone clue me in?

Thanks!

D

derekmcd

It's probably a bit more accurate to state that galactic superclusters are receding from each other. Within the superclusters, smaller subclusters and local groups, the gravitation forces are strong enough to overcome the expansion and you will see blueshifted galaxies such as Andromeda. Galactic collisions do happen even on the scale of clusters:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bullet_Cluster

M

MeteorWayne

What derekmcd said is correct as usual. On small scales (say a few billion light years) the attraction of gravity results in motion that is faster than the expansion of the Universe. The latest estimate of a collision with Andromeda is about 5 billion years, but that is only a rough estimate :)

Edit: Sorry, I forgot to add, Welcome to Space.com! Ask away :)

C

crazyeddie

rhetoric":r2o9g6yq said:
I'm an absolute novice so please forgive me if this is a stupid question.

"The only stupid question is the one that goes unasked", as someone once said.

Please don't hesitate to ask us questions. You will find all of us here absolutely chomping at the bit to answer them! ;) :D

R

rhetoric