Increasing funding in US space initiatives

Status
Not open for further replies.
X

Xee

Well, I suppose this post is a bit different from the rest.

I'm an accounting student working on an assignment for my Nonprofit & Governmental Accounting course. Our professor wants us to select and examine a contemporary issue relevant to a committee in either the federal or local Senate or House of Representatives then draft a memo to the chair of that committee with our argument for a policy change (it's not going to be sent).

Wanting to find something that would make this assignment interesting, and being a sci-fi nut, my proposal was to increase spending in space initiatives by cutting the defense budget. Now I just need to narrow it down. Anyone know where I might go to do some background reading on current/past space programs? Or, looking at it another way, if money was freed up specifically for the use of space programs, where do you think it should go?

I'm not looking for anything too detailed. Just something to point me in a general direction so I know where to start researching. Thanks!

V

Valcan

Why do people always pick defense why not entitlment programs? :roll:
They use up far more of our national budget.

X

Xee

Valcan":ijfkv6pl said:
Why do people always pick defense why not entitlment programs? :roll:
They use up far more of our national budget.

Because reading about defense would be more interesting than reading about welfare.

There are other reasons of course but I don't want to turn this into a political debate. Just looking to find more info on promising space initiatives that could use more funding.

R

rcsplinters

Xee,