Just bought my first telescope

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

donnaF

I just bought my first telescope. It was a used 4.5" Bushnell that I bought online.
I set it up and it seems to work. I got a really good clear view of the full moon last night.
Then I turned it to Jupiter (I think, I'm pretty new to this) and it showed up as a pretty clear disc except that I could see the cross bars that are inside the telescope in the image. Was it because there was not enough light from the smaller object? Will it be better without the full moon? What can I do to fix this?
Also, the lenses are dirty I guess. When trying to view the planet I could see trash in the view. Is there a way to clean them safely or do I need to buy new ones?
Thanks for any help.

C

crazyeddie

donnaF":2931fh14 said:
I just bought my first telescope. It was a used 4.5" Bushnell that I bought online.
I set it up and it seems to work. I got a really good clear view of the full moon last night.
Then I turned it to Jupiter (I think, I'm pretty new to this) and it showed up as a pretty clear disc except that I could see the cross bars that are inside the telescope in the image. Was it because there was not enough light from the smaller object? Will it be better without the full moon? What can I do to fix this?
Also, the lenses are dirty I guess. When trying to view the planet I could see trash in the view. Is there a way to clean them safely or do I need to buy new ones?
Thanks for any help.

Welcome to Space.Com!

The cross bars (actually called the "secondary mirror spider vanes") should never be visible at the eyepiece, and I can't imagine how you are seeing them, especially if you do not see them when viewing the full moon. Are you referring to the diffraction spikes? These would appear as faint, luminous spikes on four sides of a bright, small objects, and they are caused by light scattered by the spider vanes. Usually they are not bothersome, unless the spider vanes are very thick.