My common sense hypothesis about dark matter and energy

Jun 1, 2024
Visit site
A common sense-based answer to mysterious cosmological questions (Dark Energy and Matter)

I want to begin by saying that I have no formal education or experience in Cosmology or similar sciences. However, having said this, I am interested in and obsessed with all the aspects of cosmology, especially dark matter, and energy.

The following describes my common sense-based hypothesis regarding the nature of dark matter and Energy:

Right after the Big Bang, the universe was in a hot, dense state where particles and antiparticles frequently collided and annihilated each other. This annihilation indeed released vast amounts of energy, contributing to the overall energy density of the expansion of the universe. Dark energy is a mysterious form of energy that makes up about 68% of the universe's total energy density and is responsible for the accelerated expansion of the universe.

The expansion of the universe is still going on because of this energy. Its exact nature is unknown, but it is often associated with the cosmological constant (Λ) in Einstein's field equations of General Relativity.