newbie question about 'Goldilocks Zones'

Status
Not open for further replies.
V

Vazquez_J

good morning ladies and gents -

newbie here who was wondering about 'Goldilocks' zones in the solar system..

As I understand it, the following places are considered to be warm enough and safe enough for live - Planet Earth, Mars, underneath the Europan Ice crust, possible warm oceans on Neptune/Uranus.

I was wondering, if it had been considered that on Mercury, there must be places where the temperature is just about right. On the side that faces the sun, its understood that temperatures can reach 400C and on the side facing away -180C.. does this not mean that surely there is a point inbetween the two where temps would range between 0 and 30C?.. possibly having to follow it around the planet as it rotates?? I assume it would be an area not facing direct sunlight, so relatively safe from solar radiation.

would welcome any thoughts/corrections - thanks

O

origin

Mercury is a bad choice for life due to the lack of water and atmosphere. But I think that is good question to wonder if life could exist on a tidally locked planet in the 'twilight zone'. It certainly doesn't sound like an ideal condition for the formation of life, but it may be possible.

Mercury is not tidally locked.

For every two orbits around the Sun, Mercury rotates three times.

Mercury takes 88 days to orbit the Sun, but rotates once every 59 days, so each time Mercury orbits the Sun, the opposite side of Mercury is facing the Sun.

The mythical 'Twilight Zone' of Mercury does not exist as was once thought if Mercury was Heliosynchronous.

At Dawn on the Equator on Mercury, the ground temperature is approx minus 186 Celsius. At Noon it has climbed to 407 Celsius (hot enough to melt lead). Early afternoon reaches 427 Celsius. Sunset it has fallen to minus 23 C. Midnight, minus 170 Celsius. Dawn minus 186 Celsius again.