Predictability and length of gamma ray bursts (for sci-fi)

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

ntc69

I'm a short story author and got some useful help on here a few months back...and now I'm back with another idea!

I want some phenomenon that would mean the entire surface of the Earth become uninhabitable for X months or X years...everyone has to be down in deep bunkers.

I thought the obvious candidate was gamma ray bursts but there seem to be two problems:

1. they don't last very long, so wouldn't half of the earth always be largely unaffected
2. they're not predictable, so a lot of my plot (governments trying to organise themselves, get selected people down into shelters) wouldn't be accurate

is there anything else I could use? I would prefer to avoid the ol' asteroid as it's been done a million times. Supernova? Intense sunspot/flares activity? (again, is that predictable?)

it seems asteroids/comets are the best events but I'd love to do something with GRB's. :cry:

O

origin

ntc69":13miespo said:
I'm a short story author and got some useful help on here a few months back...and now I'm back with another idea!

I want some phenomenon that would mean the entire surface of the Earth become uninhabitable for X months or X years...everyone has to be down in deep bunkers.

I thought the obvious candidate was gamma ray bursts but there seem to be two problems:

1. they don't last very long, so wouldn't half of the earth always be largely unaffected
2. they're not predictable, so a lot of my plot (governments trying to organise themselves, get selected people down into shelters) wouldn't be accurate

is there anything else I could use? I would prefer to avoid the ol' asteroid as it's been done a million times. Supernova? Intense sunspot/flares activity? (again, is that predictable?)

it seems asteroids/comets are the best events but I'd love to do something with GRB's. :cry: