Why is Lunar Orbital path so far off the Ecliptic?

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

slackjr

I took an Astronomy course about 8 years ago, after years of personal study and sky watching, and during one of my late-night observations in mid-winter, I was surprised to note that the moon was nearly straight overhead even in Massachusetts. Since I was under the impression that the moon/planets/sun all rode in generally the same area across the sky (Ecliptic), I couldn't figure out the disparity of paths.<br /><br />I asked my professor (a fellow at the Cambridge Center for Astrophysics, slumming a the community college for penance or some such), and he brightened straight up, stopped the class, and said, "Did everyone hear that! This is really a beautiful question." Then he launched into Harvardspeak that lost me completely, and it isn't as though I know nothing about the sky and movements of all those bodies. I'm no expert, but not a novice either.<br /><br />Is there a simple answer to why the moon's path can diverge from the Ecliptic by 20-plus degrees at times?

S

Saiph