An object the size of mars hit earth?

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

grass_stain

Im sorry but i just read the biggest explosions or whatever on the moon..... and they said an object the size of mars hit us? :lol: :lol: :?: but yeah ..im no expert ... but im pretty sure that would straight obliterate us and everything to do with our planet..... (dumbest thing ive ever heard on a common sense level) :ugeek:

M

MeteorWayne

First, Welcome to Space.com.

Second, this doesn't belong in Physics, so I will move it to Ask the Astronomer.

Third, yes, it seems a Mars size object hit the earth during it's formation. The earth likely had a molton surface at the time, if it had started to cool, the impact likely melted the whole planet again. The ejecta from that collision is what formed a short lived ring around the earth, some of which coalesced to form the moon.

It's a well developed theory, which a little research will allow you to learn more about.

G

grass_stain

i dont need research for this ... its all common sense... if it hit the earth ... i dont care if its molten lava... its not guna just take somethin that big on.... its guna knock us of our block (orbit) and send this planet somewhere else ... i know its what i think but ... seriously .. thats a dumb hypothesis ( i think so anyways dont take it personal to whoever thought of it)

M

mark_d_s

grass_stain":1frb2ez3 said:
i dont need research for this ...

That's what the greeks thought, and they were wrong about a lot of things too!

grass_stain":1frb2ez3 said:
its all common sense...

Whatever you do, don't research quantum mechanics...!!! :lol:

I can understand why it might seem like an incredible theory, but there are good reason why scientists beleive it to be true - mostly it very difficult to explain why the Earth & the Moon are essentially made of the same 'stuff'. If they formed in different places you'd expect the chemical composition to vary, which isn't the case.

M

MeteorWayne