Elementary questions about the moon

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

hkhil

Hello<br /><br />I am a high school student having trouble understanding how the moon orbits the earth.<br />I read that it moves from "east to west".<br /><br />Now everytime someone mentions "east/west" etc.. I envision earth as a circle on a piece of paper. Top is North, right side is east, bottom is south and the left side is west. <br />So the moon orbits CLOCKWISE (coming from east, travelling to west)... and the earth ROTATES COUNTER-CLOCKWISE. Right? <br /><br />so question 1: Does it mean no matter where you live on earth, Northern or southern hemisphere, it will rise east and set west? (sorry if it is a dumb question but when I envision my earth as a circle on paper, the southern hemisphere is "upside down"...)<br /><br />Actually I am confused without knowing exactly what is confusing me... so I am not sure what to ask! I read some other material that says the moon is "actually rising from the west but we see it as east". That certainly makes it harder to understand.<br /><br />Any help on this matter will be greatly appreciated.

Q

qso1