Thinking about orbital mechanics makes my head hurt ...

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

askold

Though I have a degree in math.<br /><br />When the astronauts threw the object backwards from the ISS - what is the resultant path of the junk?<br /><br />What if they threw it straight "down"?<br /><br />Thanks

J

jimfromnsf

Down doesn't really do anything and the object's orbit still intersects with the ISS.<br /><br />When they threw it opposite of the velocity vector, it put that object in a lower orbit

V

vogon13

Early NASA astronauts drove cars on a circular track, at predetermined speeds for the radii they were on so they could develop 'real world' experience with the seemingly contradictory effects of orbital manuvers.<br /><br /><br />An otherwise forgettable movie back in the 70s had a concerned woman (innocent of orbital mechanics, however) attemptimg to dump a largish nuke from a space station simply by shoving it overboard. Her attempt led to some tense moments.<br /><br /><br /><br /> <div class="Discussion_UserSignature"> <p><font color="#ff0000"><strong>TPTB went to Dallas and all I got was Plucked !!</strong></font></p><p><font color="#339966"><strong>So many people, so few recipes !!</strong></font></p><p><font color="#0000ff"><strong>Let's clean up this stinkhole !!</strong></font> </p> </div>

B

bdewoody

I too have a degree in math but the physics of a lot of whats true in space eludes me such as. Does the ISS or shuttle naturally keep the same side facing earth like the way a plane flies in the atmosphere or will it show it's opposite side when it is 180 degrees from where it starts. <div class="Discussion_UserSignature"> <em><font size="2">Bob DeWoody</font></em> </div>

T

thereiwas