See the hypersonic 'Darkstar' jet from 'Top Gun: Maverick' in person this weekend

Oct 5, 2022
Visit site
The Dark Star certainly appears to be Hollywood's conception of a hypersonic aircraft. Nothing in its design says hypersonic to me. I am not an aerospace engineer, so anyone else have something to say?

I do have an aerospace engineer in my extended family, so I will find time to discuss this with her, and pray she does not laugh me out of the room.

Dana, what would design features need to be like to "say hypersoninc" to you?

To me, with a couple of (ancient) aeronautical engineering degrees but no experience with hypersonic aircraft design, I see big intakes for what I assume are big engines to provide large amounts of thrust, a black body to radiate the heat from atmospheric friction as effectively as possible, and a vey low-drag airframe design. All of that seems plausible for mach 6 and above.

I do not see anything like a movable forebody in the engine intake, that might be needed to optimize the entrance shock waves - but perhaps this plane would use supersonic combustion flow instead of shocking it down to subsonic for fuel combustion.

So far as I know (retired with no security clearance), there is nothing that is going to go as fast as the Hollywood script calls for (>mach 10), but mach 6 seems doable. Skunkworks could surprise me, though.

Oct 5, 2022
Visit site
Aerodynamically it does not seem appreciably different from a Mach 2 airframe. The inlets gave me pause too, but I guess we don't have much idea what might be happening in there. Of course you cannot judge the airframe composition.
I suppose it looked too conventional to me to be a hypersonic aircraft. Thanks for weighing in.