STS-128 (Discovery) Pre Launch Thread

Page 3 - Seeking answers about space? Join the Space community: the premier source of space exploration, innovation, and astronomy news, chronicling (and celebrating) humanity's ongoing expansion across the final frontier.
Status
Not open for further replies.
B

bobble_bob

Guest
Dont get up Andrew, launch scrub due to a broken fill and drain valve.

Rumour of a 48 hour scrub
 
3

3488

Guest
Looks like there is a problem with the LH2 fill & drain valve.

Fuelling has been stopped to determine whether or not it can be resolved or the launch attempt tomorrow morning will be scrubbed.

Andrew Brown.
 
3

3488

Guest
bobble_bob":3bjgch5k said:
Dont get up Andrew, launch scrub due to a broken fill and drain valve.

Rumour of a 48 hour scrub
Thanks Bob, we posted at the same time.

So that's it, looks like Thursday morning at the earliest.

That's it, I'm definitely off to sleep now. Goodnight everyone.

Andrew Brown.
 
3

3488

Guest
Detailed Spaceflight Now article here on the scrub & the hope for a Friday morning launch at 00:22 EDT, 04:22 GMT / 05:22 CET.

If Discovery does not launch before Sunday 30th August 2009, the next opportunity comes on: Saturday 14th October 2009 for Discovery to launch.

Andrew Brown.
 
M

MeteorWayne

Guest
From NASA:

Mission Managers to Meet Today at Noon
Thu, 27 Aug 2009 08:13:24 AM EDT


The testing of the liquid hydrogen fill and drain valve in shuttle Discovery’s main propulsion system is complete. The valve and its position indicator both operated normally during yesterday’s testing. And all leak checks were within specification.

The evaluation of the low-level hydrogen leak detected in a tail service mast on the mobile launcher platform on Launch Pad 39A following Tuesday's launch scrub is complete, and no leaks were detected.

All the test data will be brought to the mission management team for review at the noon EDT meeting. Mission managers also are scheduled to meet at 2:15 p.m. to give the “Go - No Go” for tanking.

If Discovery gets the “Go”, tanking commentary on NASA TV will begin at 2:45 p.m. and fueling operations will start at approximately 3 p.m. Launch commentary will begin tonight at 7 p.m.
 
M

MeteorWayne

Guest
spaceflightnow is reporting an additional 24 hour delay:


http://www.spaceflightnow.com/

Shuttle Discovery's launch pushed back another day

Launch of space shuttle Discovery is being delayed an additional 24 hours to give engineers more time to assess the fill and drain valve issue. The next launch opportunity would come at 11:59 p.m. EDT on Friday.
 
M

MeteorWayne

Guest
Confirmed from the NASA Shuttle site:

Shuttle managers target Discovery's liftoff for Friday, Aug. 28 at 11:59 p.m.
Thu, 27 Aug 2009 01:04:43 PM EDT


The Mission Management Team has concluded with the decision to target launch for Friday, Aug. 28 at 11:59 p.m. EDT instead of 12:22 a.m. Friday morning.

The additional time will allow teams to plan in case they see the same reading that happened with the liquid hydrogen fill and drain valve that caused Tuesday afternoon's launch scrub during tanking.

The MMT will meet again on Friday at noon.

A news conference will be held on NASA TV later this afternoon to discuss the decision.
 
3

3488

Guest
Looks like the launch attempt tonight (EDT) is likely to go ahead.

From Spaceflightnow. Justin Ray.

1400 GMT (10:00 a.m. EDT)
The gantry was retracted at sunrise this morning and the countdown resumed ticking at 8:34 a.m. EDT from the T-minus 11 hour mark, a point to which clocks were recycled following yesterday's last scrub.
Today's Mission Management Team meeting to review the analysis work and flight rationale concerning the fill and drain valve begins at 12 p.m.

The count will enter the planned T-minus 6 hour hold at 1:34 p.m. EDT to await a "go" for fueling. Loading of Discovery's external fuel tank would start at 2:34 p.m. EDT, if all systems are deemed ready.

From Spaceflightnow. Justin Ray.

Andrew Brown.
 
M

MeteorWayne

Guest
Getting a bit worrying...tanking should start within the next 45 minutes, and still no word on go or no go...:(
 
M

MeteorWayne

Guest
From spaceflightnow:

1742 GMT (1:42 p.m. EDT)
The Mission Management Team meeting has blessed the flight rationale and workaround procedures after reviewing test data on the the inboard liquid hydrogen fill and drain valve.
A formal decision on moving forward with another launch attempt and re-fueling of shuttle Discovery should be made shortly. Tanking is slated to begin at 2:34 p.m. EDT

http://www.spaceflightnow.com/shuttle/s ... tatus.html
 
3

3488

Guest
Looks like it's on for tonight. :mrgreen:

I guess is that tanking will commence at the planned time. :?:

From Spaceflightnow. Justin Ray.

1801 GMT (2:01 p.m. EDT)
Go for launch! The official approval to press ahead has been given.

Spaceflightnow. Justin Ray.

Andrew Brown.
 
M

MeteorWayne

Guest
From spaceflightnow:

1801 GMT (2:01 p.m. EDT)
Go for launch! The official approval to press ahead has been given.


NASA TV will begin tanking coverage in about 10 minutes, still a 20% chance of lightning dleaying tanking

MW
 
3

3488

Guest
I can see that Wayne, cryonics & lightning is not the best combination!!!!!!! :shock: :eek: :shock:

Hopefully tanking can still start as planned.

From Spaceflightnow. Justin Ray.

1810 GMT (2:10 p.m. EDT)
The start time for fueling will be dependent on the weather. There is a chance of stormy weather this afternoon. The odds of lightning has to be less than 20 percent for fueling operation to begin.

Spaceflightnow. Justin Ray.

Andrew Brown.
 
M

MeteorWayne

Guest
Hi Andrew,

Start of tanking is being delayed by the weather, outlook is hopeful that it will clear in time.
 
3

3488

Guest
Looks like it's still happening.

Tanking decision is sill pending but the coundown clock has commenced from T- 6 Hours.

From Spaceflightnow. Justin Ray.

1837 GMT (2:37 p.m. EDT)
The latest revision to the weather forecast for the first hour of fueling now calls for only a 20 percent chance of lightning within 5 miles of the pad. It was 30 percent earlier.
The outlook includes scattered low- and mid-level clouds, broken high clouds, easterly winds of 5 to 10 knots, isolated thunderstorms and a temperature of 87 degrees F.

1834 GMT (2:34 p.m. EDT)
The countdown clocks have picked up after the T-minus 6 hour hold point. The next built-in hold will occur at T-minus 3 hours.

1830 GMT (2:30 p.m. EDT)
The launch team is awaiting a "go" weather forecast before the start of fueling.

Spaceflightnow. Justin Ray.

Andrew Brown.
 
3

3488

Guest
MeteorWayne":e51pf2v3 said:
Hi Andrew,

Start of tanking is being delayed by the weather, outlook is hopeful that it will clear in time.
Thanks Wayne I had missed that.

Andrew Brown.
 
M

MeteorWayne

Guest
I got that from NASA TV. Are you still not able to get the online streaming feed?
 
3

3488

Guest
Hi Wayne, I can get it, but it can be problematic.

I have the live streaming now running in Spaceflightnow, that appears to be running well.

LH2 Tanking has commenced on the Slow Fill mode.

From Spaceflightnow. Justin Ray.

1849 GMT (2:49 p.m. EDT)
After brief weather delay, today's filling of space shuttle Discovery's external fuel tank started at 2:45 p.m. with the chilldown thermal conditioning process. This will be followed by the slow-fill mode and then the fast-fill mode to load the tank over the next three hours.

Spaceflightnow. Justin Ray.

Andrew Brown.
 
M

MeteorWayne

Guest
Tanking began officially at 2:45 PM EDT (1845 UTC/GMT) if I heard it right.
 
3

3488

Guest
Yes slow fill on the LH2 is underway.

Looks like the LOX tanking has not commenced yet.

There is some concern over weather at launch time, a 60% chance of good weather, but with concerns over thunderstorms lingering from the afternoon & Anvil Clouds nearby.

Andrew Brown.
 
3

3488

Guest
For those interested, a reminder of the temperatures of the cryonics to be loaded in the External Tank of Discovery.

LOX (Liquid Oxygen) Minus 298 Fahrenheit = Minus 183 Celsius / 90 Kelvin.
LH2 (Liquid Hydrogen) Minus 423 Fahrenheit = Minus 252 Celsius / 21 Kelvin.

Andrew Brown.
 
3

3488

Guest
LH2 tanking going well, still in Slow Fill mode, should enter Rapid Fill mode in approx 16 minutes.

Slow Fill Tanking of LOX to commence in 15 minutes.

Andrew Brown.
 
3

3488

Guest
Must have misheard a previous comment.

LOX Slow Fill tanking has been underway for 9 minutes now.

I'm not always the sharpest knife in the drawer. :oops: :oops: :oops:

There are no issues regarding launch preparations, weather remains at 60% chance of favourable conditions for launch of STS 128 Discovery.

Andrew Brown.
 
3

3488

Guest
LOX has now gone into Rapid Fill Tanking mode.

LH2 enters Rapid Fill tanking in 5 minutes.

Andrew Brown.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

ASK THE COMMUNITY