A Better Space Station?

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Giulio

Now I'm no engineer so don't laugh! But I always wondered why we couldn't build a more advanced spacestation than the skylab on steroids we got up there now. I mean, It couldn't be that much more difficult than what we already did. Just a different configuration. Along the lines of many science fiction stories I've read, why not build a wheel in space and spin it for false "gravity". The center hub can serve as a docking port, zero-g labs and work stations for zero-g experiments. etc.., while the rim could have multiple modules for living quarters, non-zero g labs, bathrooms, kitchens, excersize rooms, etc... All the money spent on reinventing zero g toilets and galleys and living quarters and workstations and all the rest, could have been used for the added complexity of a more advanced station. Instead we could have used nearly conventional toilets and other such stuff for modules that would have "gravity". It could have been built in sections just like the ISS, but upon completion, instead of just saying, "ok, we're done!" we celebrate it's completion by setting it spinning. You build the wheel's framework first, then the center hub with the solar arrays and then begin to add modules to the rim. When all is balanced and complete, turn on the thrusters and the gyros or what-have-you and you have something that looks like a spacestation, not something that looks like its been thrown together ad hoc.
Again - don't laugh - but I have an image below to try and illustrate what I mean. It's not to scale at alland I don't know how big it would have to be to be feasible. OK, go ahead, shoot me down and speculate away!! :roll:
spacestation2.jpg

Here is a great explanation of the concept: http://chapters.marssociety.org/usa/oh/aero2.htm

M

MeteorWayne

The quick answer is: $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

As in who's going to pay for it.
Lot's of people have interesting ideas.